How to Order Vegan at Subway: A Sandwich Lover’s Guide

There are more Subways than any other restaurant in the world. It’s comforting that no matter where you live, there’s most likely a sub shop nearby that has plenty of vegetarian options. We delve into menus from around the world to find all the vegan options—from standard veggie delights to vegetarian-friendly regional specialties. Use this guide to learn what’s vegan (hello, sweet onion sauce) and surprisingly what’s not (avoid the 9-grain bread) before placing your next Subway order.

What is Vegan at Subway?

While mainstream fast-food chains such as Burger King and Carl’s Jr. have added vegetarian-friendly handhelds to their permanent menus, Subway has yet to unveil a permanent, plant-based offering nationwide.


In 2019, the chain made headlines when it launched Beyond Meatball Subs across the US and Canada. The excitement was ultimately short-lived, as the sub has yet to return to US menus. Fortunately, two years later, Subway committed to developing more vegetarian options after facing controversy surrounding its tuna — which a lawsuit claimed was actually “a mixture of different imitations.” […] Made from anything other than tuna.”

Vegan options at Subway

While we wait for more vegan offerings on Subway’s menu, check out these plant-based options to help you make the ultimate sub. Vegans, beware: seek sustenance elsewhere during the AM hours. This sandwich shop doesn’t have vegan breakfast options.


1 the bread

At Subway, it starts with bread. The only vegetarian option available at all locations is the Italian (white), although the chain carries other plant-based bread options that vary by region. These include Hearty Multigrain and Sourdough. Tomato basil and spinach are both animal-free.

VegNews.Subway CondimentSubway

2 spice

Subway’s condiments can transform a rather bland sandwich into a handhold you’ll really enjoy. Vegan-friendly options include:

  • Buffalo sauce
  • Mustard
  • oil and vinegar
  • Subway Herb Garlic Oil
  • Subway vinaigrette
  • Red wine vinegar
  • Sweet Onion Sauce
  • Bell pepper
  • Sea salt

The options expand further when looking at regional variations. Your local sub shop may carry any of the following vegetarian-friendly sauces and spreads:

  • bbq sauce
  • Creamy Italian
  • Fire Roasted Tomato Sauce
  • the gardener
  • Golden Italian
  • Hot pepper taste
  • ketchup
  • Sweet Chili Sauce


3 Sandwiches and wraps

At any Subway, vegans can always count on Veggie Delight. Amp up your sandwich with veggies of your choice (banana peppers, black olives, peppers, onions, cucumbers, lettuce, tomatoes, pickles, spinach, and jalapeños) and boost the flavor with Subway’s vegan-friendly condiments. Beyond this vegetable-loaded sandwich, the chain offers a new veggie patty that’s suitable for vegans, according to the chain’s updated menu guidelines. Fair warning: In the US, the new plant-based patty is not available at all locations. Internationally, the veggie patty is perfect for vegans in Canada.

Vegnews.Subway SaladSubway

4 salad

The vegan salad at Subway is basically a breadless veggie delight served in a bowl. If your local store offers a veggie patty, we recommend adding it to your salad to make it more substantial. Ask your sandwich artist to load up on veggies and don’t skimp on the guac. Any of the vegan condiments listed above can be used as a dressing.


5 side

Subway carries a variety of Lay’s brand chips and GoGo Squeez squeezable applesauce to complement the meals of its vegetarian patrons. Be sure to stay away from cheese-flavored Doritos and sunchips. And unfortunately, the cookies are not vegan.

For more vegan fast-food guides, read:

Source link