Is miso soup vegan? Reveal the truth

Fact-checked badge

There’s nothing better than coming home to a delicious miso soup after a long rainy day. A staple of Japanese cuisine, this dish has been around for centuries. Miso soup consists of a dashi stock to which miso paste is mixed, and various ingredients such as tofu and rice are often added. But is miso soup vegetarian-friendly?

Veganism is a lifestyle that aims to reduce the consumption of animal-derived products, including food, clothing and other items such as cosmetics. This lifestyle is adopted by people who are highly unethical to the way we treat animals today. Regarding their diet, vegans choose only plant-based products, avoiding ingredients containing dairy, meat, fish, eggs and all other items that may be associated with animal cruelty.

Following this diet requires a lot of research and that’s why we decided to help vegans by discussing several popular foods and whether they are suitable for their lifestyle. Today we will talk about a traditional Japanese dish that is now very popular in the western world, miso soup. So, let’s dive into this topic!

Miso soup ingredients

Traditionally, miso soups are made from dashi stock and miso paste to which other plant-based ingredients are also added, such as tofu, wakame seaweed, green onions, and daikon. So, is miso soup vegan? Unfortunately not. This soup can be served with ingredients that are not suitable for a plant-based diet, such as shrimp, fish, clams, and pork. But these aren’t the only products you should keep an eye out for.

actually, Miso soup is made from deshi, a soup stock produced by boiling water with kombu, a type of kelp, and kezurikatsu, dried skipjack tuna shavings.

Obviously, this material not vegan, but there are several vegetarian-friendly options on the market now. Kombu dashi, for example, is made using only dried kelp.

Some also use dried shiitake mushrooms to change the flavor of the fish. But let’s move on. Of course, the main ingredient in miso soup is miso paste. It is completely vegan as it is made with cooked soybeans, koji, fermented rice and salt. Bonito flakes are another common ingredient. They are often added to miso soup as a topping. They, unfortunately, contain fish and are therefore not suitable for vegans. However, they are not essential and can easily be avoided or replaced with shiitake mushrooms.

Let’s also talk briefly about soy sauce. Often present in miso soup, this ingredient is theoretically vegetarian, but some manufacturers use fish or meat-based flavor enhancers. Last but not least, tofu and seaweed. Fortunately, these ingredients are completely vegan and provide us with plenty of protein.

Nutritional value of miso soup

Miso soup is very healthy and some of its benefits include improved digestive health, lower risk of heart disease, as well as a healthy immune system. But what is the nutritional value of this food? Miso soup contains about three grams of protein per serving (one ounce). This food is an excellent source of probiotics, minerals and vitamins, including A. oryzae, which is known to improve gut health. Vitamin K, manganese, zinc and calcium.

Miso soup is also low in calories 40 to 60 calories per serving. This is significantly less than other popular vegan soups such as leek and potato soups.

Miso soup and veganism

One of the most common misconceptions about miso soup, and Japanese cuisine more generally, is that it is mostly vegetarian, but this is not the case. Miso soup is actually made from dashi, an ingredient made from dried skipjack tuna. After all, this traditional dish often includes other ingredients, such as bonito flakes and soy sauce that may contain animal products.

Fortunately, these days, thanks to the rise of veganism, several restaurants offer vegan-friendly miso soup variants. If you can’t find any in your area, you can always make your own version, opting for shiitake mushrooms instead of bonito flakes and using kombu dashi, which avoids using fish. This will help you recreate a delicious miso soup full of umami flavor, a common flavor found in this dish.

Miso soup and Japanese food

Miso soup is one of the most popular dishes in Japanese cuisine and is a fundamental part of the country’s food tradition. According to legend, this dish was eaten by samurai during the Kamakura period, which expanded from 1185 to 1333. This dish is still incredibly popular in this country and is eaten daily by three-quarters of Japan’s population.

Miso soup comes in two main forms depending on the miso paste used. Red miso Paste soybeans are superior and strongly flavored, while white miso The soup is light.

Make your own vegan miso soup

Miso Soup Vegan_2
Check out this great vegan miso soup recipe at

unfortunately, Traditional miso soup is not vegetarian. But you can easily make your own plant-based soups, as we mentioned above. On the other hand, if you prefer to eat traditionally vegan Japanese food, you can Choose stir-fried udon noodles, tofu or ramen. Keep in mind that miso soup is lower in calories than these, making it a perfect meal for those looking to lose weight.


Miso soup is unfortunately not suitable for vegetarians, as it contains dashi broth made with fish. This dish is often topped with bonito flakes, which are also made from fish. But there is no reason to despair. These days, several restaurants are offering vegan-friendly miso soup.

On top of that, make yours vegan version is relatively simple, So roll up your sleeves and make your own comforting miso soup at home. Use shiitake mushrooms instead of bonito flakes and opt for dashi cooked in kelp only. We are sure you will fall in love with this easy soup! If you suddenly can’t do without Japanese healthy recipes, try other vegetarian dishes common to the country, such as ramen, udon noodles, natto, soba, and edamame.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is miso soup and is it vegetarian-friendly?

Miso soup is a typical Japanese dish. Unfortunately, it is Not vegan as it contains dashi made using fish.

What are the ingredients in miso soup and which are not vegetarian-friendly?

Miso soup is made with miso paste and dashi. Unfortunately, the latter is not vegetarian-friendly.

Can vegans eat traditional miso soup, or are there vegan alternatives?

No, vegetarians cannot eat miso soup. However, you can easily make your own plant-based alternative by skipping dashi and using vegetable stock.

Is miso soup a good source of nutrition for vegetarians?

Miso soup is extremely healthy as it contains several probiotics and minerals. However, it is Not suitable for a vegetarian diet.

How does miso soup fit into a vegetarian diet?

Miso soup is not vegan because it contains dashiAn ingredient made from fish.

Are there any misconceptions about miso soup and veganism?

People often believe that miso soup is vegan because it does not contain dairy, meat, or fish. however, This dish is made from dashi, an ingredient made from fish.

What are some vegetarian-friendly miso soup recipes?

Simply use a vegan stock instead of dashi or make your own vegan version by boiling the kelp in water.

How does miso soup fit into Japanese cuisine and are there other vegetarian Japanese dishes?

Miso soup is one of Japan’s most popular dishes and has been around for centuries. Unfortunately, this soup is not vegetarian. Some Japanese vegan dishes include ramen, soba, and natto.

Can vegetarians eat miso soup?

no Traditional miso soup consists of dashi, which is made from fish.

Is miso soup gluten-free?

It depends on how the miso paste is fermented. If it is produced using soybeans, your miso soup will be gluten-free.

Source link